Originally the Aston Stones were placed along two axes which intersected the site known as the Old Cross. This emphasised the intention to portray a cross and indicate the interconnection of the disciplines and activities of the campus: from each site at least one of the other stones was visible. The stones have since been re-arranged because of campus redevelopments. According to the artist the five geometric designs each explore a different kind of symmetry by connecting eight equidistant discs in a variety of ways. The large stone, on a brick base, is carved in eight identical parts, each precisely fitted. The other four are cut from single blocks of Portland Whitbed stone.(1) Some of the sculptures have been smoothly finished while others reveal claw chisel marks.
The scheme to commission open-air sculptures at the university was launched when its library was opened in 1975.(2) As a total scheme they were financed by the Arts Council of Great Britain, who were promoting the work of young sculptors (£1500 contribution), the University of Aston (£1500) and donations from Members of the Convocation, now Aston Graduates Association (£1000).(3) Purchased singly, the first of the five works was installed on 19th November 1976.(4)
Related works : This group is similar to John Maine's Six Markers on the Forshore, Portsmouth, 1974.
PMSA recording information
Sorry, we have no precise geographical information for this item.